Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu

Stroudsburg Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

No one expects to get hurt on the job in Stroudsburg, yet workplace injuries happen much more frequently than most people think. Workplace injuries can vary widely, from debilitating and disfiguring amputation injuries to traumatic brain injuries caused by a fall from heights to a broken bone resulting from an office slip and fall. In short, on-the-job injuries occur in all sorts of ways, and most workers are eligible to receive compensation through an insurance program known as workers’ compensation.

The Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry oversees workers’ compensation claims in Stroudsburg and throughout the state. Anyone who has been hurt at work should know that there are specific steps they must take in order to be eligible to receive compensation. An experienced Stroudsburg workers’ compensation lawyer can help with your case.

What is Workers’ Compensation in Stroudsburg?

Most employers in Stroudsburg and throughout Pennsylvania are required to have workers’ compensation insurance. This type of insurance provides benefits to workers who get hurt on the job, regardless of fault. When an employee suffers an injury and files a workers’ compensation claim, that employee may be eligible to receive medical benefits that cover healthcare costs related to the injury, and wage loss benefits that compensate for lost wages due to the inability to work.

There are both permanent and temporary workers’ compensation benefits depending upon whether the employee will make a full recovery. For workers who suffer permanent injuries, there are both total and partial disability benefits available.

Initial Steps for a Stroudsburg Workers’ Compensation Case

To be eligible for workers’ compensation, any injured employee must be sure to take some initial steps that include the following:

  • Report your injury in a timely manner: if you do suffer an injury or work-related illness, you are required to report it to your employer (or to your supervisor, depending on the nature of your job) within 21 days from the date of injury. Unless your claim involves a long-term, progressive occupational illness like mesothelioma or another form of cancer, your claim can be denied if you fail to properly report it. While you have 21 days to report, it is always a good idea to report as soon as possible.

  • Check to make sure that your employer properly addresses your claim: your employer has up to 48 hours to report a nonfatal workplace injury claim to the workers’ compensation insurance company, and then the employer has up to 21 days from the date of your report to make a decision about your case. In some cases, the employer will agree that you should receive compensation, but in other cases the employer will request additional information or deny your claim.

If your workers’ compensation claim is denied, you can file a petition within three years from the date of your injury to appeal the denial. If you appeal, a Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ) will hear your case.

Learn More from a Stroudsburg Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

Do you need assistance filing a workers’ compensation claim or appealing a denial of benefits? An experienced Stroudsburg workers’ compensation attorney can assist you. Contact Needle Law Firm for more information.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
MileMark Media

© 2021 - 2024 Needle Law Firm. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.